Weeks 11/12

I missed out on blogging the past week because it’s been truly a blur. Week 11 started off on a weird note when my dude had an emergency appendectomy. Next thing I knew I was back at work, and mentally drained.

Iris is growing at such a crazy rate though, and I can’t wait to share my experiences with her the past two weeks!

IMG_2266“WTF is that?!”

During week 11 Iris became very aware of her body and her surroundings. She’s become quite the wiggle worm since this happened, and suddenly she’s much more affectionate and interested in her toys!

IMG_2275I literally cannot handle how beautiful she is in this picture.

She has a fox security blanket that she loves holding and talking to. We’ve also picked up a few more toys like rattles, and that Baby Eisenstein soother that literally everyone has. I know you all know what I mean it’s that one with the ocean sounds.

IMG_2356Another “WTF is this” moment

These toys really seem to help with tummy time a bit more. I think it also helps that daycare puts her in tummy time with no fear so she’s getting just slightly better at this whole thing. Oddly enough though, I think she might sit up before she does anything else because she’s been trying whenever I have her on the Boppy. I’m not really sure what’s normal all of my mom apps say crawling is first, but I dunno I have this weird feeling she might skip that because she’s just never thrilled about it.

IMG_2270“Not again, mom….”

Daycare has been going well it seems. I thought she’d get sick the first week, but she’s been fine. To be fair she is doing half and half as they didn’t have room for her full time yet. So, she is there three days a week and with her grandmother the other two days. I think this is a really nice way to ease her into the program.

IMG_230611 week postpartum work selfie

How am I doing returning to work? Better than I ever thought. Work has actually been super accommodating for me. I get two half hour pump breaks and one half hour lunch. These breaks truly help me mentally get away from the stress. It also just feels nice to be making money. There’s a ton of stuff I wanna spoil my little one with, and I haven’t really gotten the chance to yet. Look forward to a first paycheck haul blog with all of the goodies I get. I’m still weighing less than I was before I got pregnant so I am super happy, but I find maintaining the weight or even losing it is a struggle. I need to get more active.

My postpartum depression is gone, or it feels like it. Might just be the meds. Either way I am VERY glad I sought out help because I know these past two weeks would have been nuts. Seriously, never be ashamed. Being a mom is hard. Being a working mom is even more difficult. Do what you need to.

IMG_2289All of this is straight from the boob!

I can happily say I am reaching my daily goal of 6-8oz of breast milk a day. I’m sad I can’t exclusively breastfeed, but it’s crazy to see how much Reglan and Fenugreek work! I feel like it did take a full two weeks to see the progress though. Everyone’s bodies are different, but if you struggle with low supply give them a try. I’ve been sipping on Mother’s Milk Tea during the day at work too and that seems to give me a bit of a boost.

 

IMG_2304Iris 11 weeks: October 1st, 2017.

All and all I think she’s a very happy baby. Last night I got the best present ever while tickling her: her first laugh. I am currently still a pile of goo over it and I’m so excited for her to laugh more because she has the most adorable laugh ever! I think that was the nice cherry on the top of the tough week returning to work. Sometimes when I feel very down I think about these types of things to pick me up.

IMG_2335Obviously she is super cool.

It’s weird to know I’m not her main caretaker anymore, but it’s so sweet to see no matter what she’s so happy to see me. My biggest fear is that being away from her for eight hours a day will make her forget me, or she will bond to someone else. I’m realizing that’s absurd now. We have a deep bond that now one can replace. At the end of the day it’s my love and comfort that makes her sleep peacefully through the night.

I’ve been very blessed with her demeanor. She sleeps through the night, she’s not terrible about change, and well, she is adorable. I’m trying to work on the big step of transitioning her to her crib. My goal is by six months to have her sleeping in her own room. I’m truly taking baby steps to do it because I’m not 100% ready either. I also am trying to wean her off the Rock N’ Play because she’s getting pretty big for it already. Β I’ve been setting a blanket on the ground and having her do her thing. She’s pretty content watching her Dad play video games, or watching Disney movies. I just know in a month or so that’s all going to change. She’s going to be into everything and I’m going to be ripping my hair out.

Mom guilt makes me feel bad saying this, but I really don’t want her to grow out of this stage. She’s so sweet and easy to manage, but knowing she can do so much more soon also has me eager for that. Either way, I probably won’t be able to write for another two weeks! I’m sure she will change a bunch in that time too. Who knows….maybe she might start crawling….

IMG_2369

Iris twelve weeks: October 8th, 2017.

 

 

 

 

Published by

beeingamomma

First time mama chronicling the experience.

6 thoughts on “Weeks 11/12”

  1. Hey girl how are you getting on now? I hope the baby blues are ok I know it’s hard when you go back to work and I went at 6 months! It’s nice that she has a bflsnce if you and grandparents and creche! Looking forward to your haul post!

    Like

Leave a comment